Election Results: UCP Win Majority in Alberta


April 17, 2019 at 2:10 pm - Home, Local News
By Erika Chorostil

Albertans have spoken and the United Conservative Party under new Premier-elect Jason Kenney have won a majority government in Alberta, with 55.2% of votes.

The NDP will form the official opposition.

Results are unofficial and there are still polls to be counted, but with most numbers in, it was a landslide victory for the UCP. The party turned Alberta ‘blue’ in the majority of the province except for in large part Edmonton, which remains largely NDP-friendly.

UCP candidate Martin Long has won the MLA spot for West Yellowhead, with 68.3% of the votes. Long has so far received 15,795 votes. NDP candidate Paula Cackett came second, receiving 4,745 votes, followed by the Alberta Party’s Kristie Gomuwka with 1,999 votes, so far.

Long spoke about his victory last night.

For the Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland riding, former NDP MLA and Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Oneil Carlier, has been defeated by UCP candidate Shane Getson, who won with 65.8% of votes. Getson has received 13,684 votes, while Carlier has received 4,883 votes. Alberta Party candidate Donald Walter McCargar was third, receiving 1,579 votes.

Glenn Van Dijken has won the UCP spot in Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock with 68.9% of the votes. Van Dijken has received 15,975 votes, while NDP candidate Therese Taschuk has received 4,442.

In Drayton Valley-Devon, UCP candidate Mark Smith won with 70.7% of the votes, receiving 16,292 votes. In comparison, NDP candidate Kieran Quirke received 3,943 votes.

In Fox Creek’s riding of Central Peace-Notley, UCP candidate Todd Loewen won that spot with 75.3% of votes. Loewen received 10,293 votes, unseating former NDP MLA and Minister of Energy Marg McCuaig-Boyd, who received 2,672 votes.

And in Spruce Grove-Stony Plain, UCP candidate Searle Turton has won with 59.4% of votes. Turton has received 15,297 votes, compared to NDP candidate Erin Babcock, who received 7,557 votes.

Ballots from advanced polls are still being counted today, and some results may not be officially known until Thursday.



  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement