Local Counties To Benefit From Disaster Relief Funding


October 4, 2019 at 12:48 pm - Home,
By Erika Chorostil

The Alberta government has announced that they will be providing disaster relief funding to numerous municipalities across the province who have faced fire and flood damage.

The UCP has declared official disasters in some communities in order to provide money to cover the costs of damage.

Disasters include flooding and extreme rain that affected Yellowhead County, Lac Ste. Anne County, Brazeau County, Parkland County, and the Town of Stony Plain.

Flooding in Yellowhead County, June 2019. (Credit: Yellowhead County)

Other disasters include flooding in the Municipal District of Lesser Slave Lake and Rocky View County, and wildfire damage in Lamont County, Mackenzie County, and the Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement.

The Municipal Affairs department says the disaster recovery program will include $12.2 million for preliminary claims submitted by the communities. The remaining cash will go to repairing damaged roads, highways and infrastructure.

The government says, however, it could take up to five years to determine the exact costs.




  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement