Advertisement

Local farms showcased for Alberta Open Farm Days

Advertisement

August 14, 2020 at 10:48 am - Home, Local News
By Erika Chorostil

Farms and ranches across Alberta are opening themselves up to the public this weekend for people to stop in for a visit.

The 8th annual Alberta Open Farm Days is taking place on August 15th and 16th, and over 80 locations are participating in the event this year.

Open Farm Days showcase Alberta’s agriculture industry and growing rural tourism sector by having host farms share their agricultural experiences with their urban neighbours through tours, activities, and taste-testing products.

There are a number of local area farms participating this weekend, including in Woodlands County, Lac Ste. Anne County, Barrhead County, Yellowhead County, and Parkland County.

Woodlands County:
-Blue Ridge Farms, August 16th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/blue-ridge-farms/
-Backwoods Buffalo Ranch, Anselmo, August 16th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/backwoods-buffalo-ranch/

Lac Ste. Anne County:
-Sturgeon River Stock Farm, Onoway, August 15th and 16th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/sturgeon-river-stock-farm/

Barrhead County:
-De Herdt Gardens, Barrhead, August 15th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/de-herdt-gardens-ltd/
-Pots’n Pansies Greenhouses and Garden Centre, Barrhead, August 15th and 16th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/pots-n-pansies-greenhouses/
-Mellowdale Dairy, Barrhead, August 15th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/mellowdale-dairy/
-Shady Lane Estate Inc., Barrhead, August 15th and 16th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/shady-lane-estate-inc-2/
-County of Barrhead Farm Tour, August 15th (stops at all participating locations in the county) https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/county-of-barrhead-farm-tour/

Yellowhead County:
-Stonepost Farms, Wildwood, August 15th and 16th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/stonepost-farms-3/
-Go Hard Ranch, Wildwood, August 15th and 16th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/go-hard-ranch/
-Wild Country Gardens, Wildwood, August 15th and 16th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/wild-country-gardens-3/
-Leaman Exchange Adventure Farm, August 15th and 16th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/leaman-exchange-2/

Parkland County:
-Spruce Grove and District Agricultural Society’s Alberta Wheat Pool Elevator, August 15th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/alberta-wheat-pool-elevator-in-spruce-grove-spruce-grove-and-district-agricultural/
-Good Morning Honey, south of Spruce Grove, August 15th and 16th https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/good-morning-honey/
-Putting Horse Ranch, Spruce Grove, August 15th and 16
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/putting-horse-ranch/
-Seba Beach Farmers Market, August 15th
https://albertafarmdays.ca/farm/seba-beach-farmers-market/

A full list of all participating farms and ranches is available at https://albertafarmdays.ca/host-farms/

All spots must be booked at farms in advance before tours begin. This year, due to COVID-19, spaces will be limited and additional safety measures are in place.

Comments

comments

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement