Mayerthorpe Fire Chief Randy Schroeder wins Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year


September 16, 2020 at 10:54 am - Home, Local News
By Erika Chorostil

The Mayerthorpe Fire Department’s fire chief has been honoured with a prestigious national award.

Fire Chief Randy Schroeder was named the 2020 Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year by the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs and the Fire Underwriter’s Survey.

The award was presented at the 2020 Celebration of Excellence, which was held virtually on September 14th.

The Fire Chief of the Year award is also given to a fire chief of a career department, and the career department award went to Red Deer’s Fire Chief Ken McMullen. This year there were over 40 nominations for both awards.

At their July 27th regular meeting, Mayerthorpe Town Council unanimously nominated Chief Schroeder for his volunteer service to the Mayerthorpe Fire Department, which also serves as Lac Ste. Anne County’s Station Six.

“Fire Chief Randy Schroeder has served our town and the entire region with distinction and dedication,” says Mayerthorpe Mayor, Janet Jabush. “His devotion to ensuring his firefighters have the training and equipment they need has enabled him to attract and retain an amazing team of volunteers. Randy’s leadership is key to instilling in his firefighters the same commitment to duty and community he feels. Fire Chief Schroeder is a valued member of this community and our town is fortunate to have him at the helm of our fire service.”

Karen St. Martin, Chief Administrative Officer for the Town of Mayerthorpe echoes the Mayor’s remarks, adding, “Fire Chief Schroeder has served our community with complete dedication towards providing excellence in fire services enhancing the lives of people in Mayerthorpe and area. Fire Chief Schroeder leads by example and has successfully recruited numerous volunteers to the volunteer fire service. Fire Chief Schroeder has enhanced fire services through his development of a fire training centre, fire training smoke facility, and establishment of the Mayerthorpe Emergency Services Society. Fire Chief Schroeder is actively engaged in the Alberta Fire Chief Association, in various working groups and committees, in ongoing professional development, and in volunteering to enhance the fire service and the community. Fire Chief Schroeder is passionate and excels in enhancing fire services through policy, procedure, and best practices development.”

After announcing the awards, Chief John McKearney, President of the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs noted, “In truth, every fire chief is its community’s fire chief of the year. However, for these awards, we look for indications of what is above and beyond the excellence expected in the role of a fire chief. This year’s recipients demonstrate tremendous leadership not only regionally but provincially and nationally. They also engage in excellence across various aspects of the fire service from training and education to mental health.”

Schroeder has served as Fire Chief for Mayerthorpe’s fire department for the last 17 years.

Fire Chief Randy Schroeder (Photo: Lac Ste. Anne County)



  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement